Marion Bauer, EOF Co-Chair

Marion Bauer, EOF Co-Chair

Judy Stagoski, EOF Co-chair

Our program began in 1982.

In May, 1986, branch members came up with the slogan “Soup for Scholarships” and set a goal of $200 to establish the (then titled) Lafayette area branch’s first local scholarship. The sale of the bean soup mix was so successful that our goal was easily reached and exceeded. A scholarship of $250 was granted to a mature woman student attending UMSL.
The Ballwin-Chesterfield branch funds local scholarships for mature women returning to college.  Currently our successful program, Dollars for Scholars, raises scholarship funds through member-sponsored activities In January we invite these scholarship recipients to attend the branch meeting to share their stories and the benefit the AAUW scholarship has provided.
The branch works with financial aid officers at partner colleges to explain scholarship criteria which include:  female, non-traditional student (mature, ten years or more out of high school), minimum 2.5 GPA, taking 6 or more credit hours per semester, and who  attends one of the university programs we assist.  In support of AAUW national goals, special consideration is given to women in STEM programs.  The colleges select the women to receive our AAUW/Ballwin-Chesterfield awards based on these criteria.


Congratulations to Jaimie T. and Kristen J. who graduated from Maryville University.  In May, Jaimie received her bachelor of science in nursing and Kristen received her bachelor’s degree in actuarial science.  Members met them when they attended our branch meetings over the past two years.  The graduates are grateful to Ballwin-Chesterfield for our help. Each was given a membership to AAUW national  through the Give a Grad a Gift program.

We are happy to announce that Ballwin-Chesterfield will sponsor five local scholarships this year. Three will be at UMSL and two at Maryville.  These scholarships are offered to non-traditional female students.  Support of Dollars for Scholars makes this possible.